Book Cover & Blurb

Book Cover & Blurb: The Story of Sassy Sweetwater

cook 02 18 14

New Southern Historical Fiction Release: The Story of Sassy Sweetwater by Award Winning Author Vera Jane Cook

NEW YORK – The Story of Sassy Sweetwater is a sparkling historical fiction novel by author Vera Jane Cook. It is a bildungsroman chronicling the life and loves of the title character from age thirteen through adulthood. Born to promiscuous Violet McLaughlin in 1949, Sassy Sweetwater lives with her mother and her mother’s various boyfriends until she and Violet land at the family homestead in Carter’s Crossing, South Carolina, which is ruled by strict matriarch Edna McLaughlin.

When Violet runs off with yet another man, Sassy is left at the family farm. She adjusts to small town life, surrounded by kin, some kindly and some dangerous. As she comes of age, Sassy meets Thomas Tierney, who becomes her true love. She endures good times and bad, as family secrets and the push for civil rights come to a head in Carter’s Crossing. Sassy survives everything life throws at her with aplomb.

Cook has penned a sweeping coming-of-age saga that is sure to appeal to fans of romance and drama. Sassy, an assertive, observant protagonist, gains the reader’s sympathy at the outset; in the manner of Jane Eyre, she survives the hand fortune has dealt her through sheer will, rising up to meet every challenge.

Even the love affair between Sassy and Thomas bears some similarity to that of Jane and Rochester’s relationship: after a period of initial distaste, affection slowly grows between Sassy and Thomas, who, kept apart by circumstance, marry at long last. One of the biggest obstacles to their romance is that both Sassy and Thomas refuse to admit their feelings for one another. Readers will ache for their unspoken longing to be confessed, and they will swoon with relief when this finally occurs.

About the book: The Story of Sassy Sweetwater by Vera Jane Cook ASIN: B00700F02Q Publisher: Musa Publishing Date of publish: December 2013 Pages: 320 S.R.P.: $5.99

Website: Blog: http://www.verajanecook/blog Twitter: Facebook:

About the author: Vera Jane Cook, is the author of Dancing Backward in Paradise, Where the Wild Flowers Grow, The Story of Sassy Sweetwater, Lies a River Deep and Annabel Horton, Lost Witch of Salem. Dancing Backward In Paradise, Jane’s first published novel won the Eric Hoffer Award for publishing excellence and the Indie Excellence Award for notable new fiction, 2007. Both The Story of Sassy Sweetwater and Dancing Backward in Paradise_have 5 Star Reviews from ForeWord Clarion and The Story of Sassy Sweetwater was a finalist for ForeWord’s Book of the Year Awards.Her newest novel, Marybeth, Hollister & Jane_ will be released on March 9th.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s